Latest Health and Life News - Afagoals

Denmark vs Sweden… The World Cup Handball Final

0 225

The curtain falls on the 27th edition of the 2021 Handball World Cup (Sunday), with Denmark’s gathering against Sweden in the final round.

Sweden qualified for the final for the first time in 20 years after beating France 32-26 in the semi-final, while the Danish team overcame the Spanish counterpart by beating them 35-33.

A confrontation between Spain and France will precede the final match to determine the third-place holder, held at 4:30 pm Mecca Al-Mukarramah local time. In contrast, the Denmark match against Sweden will be held at half-past seven in the evening.

Duplicate scenario
The Swedish national team won its fifth title in the tournament’s history after a 22-year break from the podiums, where it won its last titles in the edition hosted by Egypt in 1999.

There is a paradox in Sweden’s confrontation with the team, which ousted Egypt from the quarter-finals, which also happened in the 1999 edition when it faced Russia, which excluded the Pharaohs at the time.

Sweden then defeated Russia in the final match to win its last titles on Egyptian soil, which may be repeated this year against Denmark, which was also the reason for Egypt’s exclusion from the quarter-finals by a penalty shoot-out.

European grip
The current edition saw 4 European teams reach the semi-finals, as was the custom in most past editions.

The old continent representatives monopolized the first 4 places in most of the last edition, except only 3 occasions, which saw the break of this dominance by 3 Arab teams.

Egypt was the first Arab team to compete with the European giants in the Golden Square in 2001 before Tunisia followed its path four years later.

In the 2015 edition, the Qatari team managed to reach the final match, becoming the first non-European team to reach the final point, but then lost France’s title.

Usual hero
The current edition will not see a new champion for the Handball World Cup after Sweden and Denmark qualify for the final, as they had previously crowned the title.

Sweden has 4 titles, making it the second most crowned team, equally with Romania, while Denmark won its only title in the last version.

Denmark seeks to repeat a unique achievement achieved by 3 teams only by preserving the title in two successive versions, as France did “twice,” Romania “twice,” and Sweden on one occasion.

It is worth noting that the Egyptian “Ontime Sports” channel broadcasts the tournament matches exclusively in the Middle East.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: