Belgian Romelu Lukaku deprived his Inter Milan team of the winning goal and qualified against Shakhter Donetsk during the two teams’ match for the final round of the UEFA Champions League group stage.
In the last breaths of the match, and when Inter needed one goal to win and qualify for the Champions League final prize, the Chilean international, Alexis Sanchez, hit a powerful ball with his head from inside the Shakhtiur penalty area. Still, Lukaku was standing in the wrong place, as his teammate’s ball hit his head and went away. For the goal, the Belgian striker wasted his team’s opportunity for a goal.
Romelu Lukaku vs Shaktar
– the new R9 🔥pic.twitter.com/ewUEVfgej6
— Ash (@AshZerrr) December 9, 2020
Da miglior attaccante del Siviglia a miglior difensore dello Shakthar, che giocatore Romelu Lukaku. pic.twitter.com/To28dCjczf
— Oscar Rafone (@cern95) December 9, 2020
It should be noted that Lukaku’s fault was because he was in the wrong place at the wrong time. After all, even if he had let the ball pass over his head and fell into the net, the referee would have refused to count the goal because the Belgian striker had participated in the match while he was in an offside position.
The match ended in a goalless draw between the two teams. Shakhtar moved to compete in the European League after finishing third in Group Two, behind Real Madrid and Borussia Monchengladbach. Meanwhile, Inter left the Champions League by finishing last in their group.
Source: footboom.com + RT